City of Birmingham Orchestra

Ben has just started at CBSO and already he has been working backstage at the Symphony Hall, been put in charge of two important events and attended a dinosaur disco…

I’m only one month into work at the CBSO, and I’ve already had the chance to be involved with so much incredible music making and feel like I’m really getting to know the orchestra. 

There was no time for a steady introduction, and by the second day I was working backstage at Symphony Hall on one of the biggest works in the classical repertoire – Mahler’s 8th Symphony. There were around 800 performers on stage as five different choirs came together and joined the CBSO alongside eight soloists. This was an incredible way to get started, as I saw how the entire management team worked together, be that orchestral or chorus management, planning, marketing or artistic direction. 

A photo illustrating Mahler's 8th Symphony with audience.

After two mammoth performances, rehearsals for the next project began and I was given my first long-term projects assisting the touring team planning their two-week tour in March. With 100 orchestra members travelling to 7 different cities around Europe, alongside priceless instruments, it’s no easy task to organise! From dealing with export laws and booking flights to trying to get 100 people in the right place at the right time, I’ve ended up working on things I never even realised were a crucial part of running a successful orchestra. 

I have also been working with the orchestral management team at concerts, of which the CBSO have around 3 a week. I have had the privilege of working directly with world-renowned artists such as Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, Klaus Mäkelä and Nicola Benedetti, understanding their artistic process and how to strike the balance between musical vision and the complex realities of the arts industry. I have been responsible for collecting and liaising with artists, ensuring performances begin on time and troubleshooting when performers have problems. 

A photo of a concert with some 'world-renowned artists with audience.

I have also been put in charge of two important event series with the CBSO – their centre stage concerts and pre-concert talks. The centre stage programme allows for musicians to perform smaller-scale chamber music that they would be unable to play in a symphonic setting, with programmes curated by the musicians themselves. I have had the chance to work with artists to prepare their concerts and run the event on the day. It’s been extremely rewarding (although slightly daunting at first!) to be trusted with such a well-loved series of concerts. The pre-concert talks run regularly before performances at symphony hall and are extremely varied, from discussions by musicologists about influential works, sessions lead by musicians or conductors, and showcase performances. These are incredibly insightful and allow me to work at a high level in one of the leading music venues in the country. I am also working with the planning department to programme the pre-concert talks for the 20-21 season, and it has been great to input my own ideas and feel like I’m contributing to the orchestra’s future. 

A photo of 5 people playing stringed instruments of smaller-scale chamber music to a crowd.

I have also loved working with the learning and participation team on their series of relaxed concerts and schools’ concerts, which work with children and people with special needs from around Birmingham to improve access to classical music. These concerts are full of great music and interactive games, it’s wonderful to see professional musicians working hard to inspire the next generation (it’s also quite nice to relax on a Friday lunchtime by getting out of the office and watching a recreation of The Wizard of Oz or going to a dinosaur disco…). 

So far, the internship has been incredibly busy and varied, and I love that each week gives me a chance to try new things and challenge myself in new ways – I can’t wait to see what the next few months have to offer!

Leave a comment